David Byrne, Queen’s Brian May, Harry Styles, others tapped to welcome 2019 Rock Hall of Fame inductees
Latimes.com - Thu 14 Mar 05:23 GMT

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled the names of musicians — including Janelle Monae, Queen's Brian May and Harry Styles — who will induct the members of 2019 class of artists joining the hall's ranks.

David Byrne, Queen’s Brian May, Harry Styles, others tapped to welcome 2019 Rock Hall of Fame inductees

  Rock goddess Stevie Nicks will be ushered into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for a second time on March 29 by former One Direction heartthrob Harry Styles, while David Byrne will handle the welcoming in of English rock band Radiohead and Queens Brian May will do the same for English heavy metal band Def Leppard at the ceremony at Barclays Center in Brooklyn.As previously reported, the 2019 class of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees has a pronounced English accent, as British rock bands the Cure, Def Leppard, Radiohead, Roxy Music and the Zombies will join the halls ranks.The selection of Nicks in her first year of eligibility as a solo act is additionally noteworthy in that she becomes the first female musician to be inducted into the hall twice.

  The acts being inducted represent a broad time span from when each entered the public spotlight from the Zombies, whose 1965 debut album arrived during the height of the British Invasion, on up through Radiohead, the alt-rock group that issued its first single in 1992 and its debut album in 1993.

  To be eligible for induction, at least 25 years must have elapsed since musicians first recordings were released, as a way of ensuring that inductees contributions have stood the test of time.At the ceremony, Janelle Monae is on tap to give the induction speech for Janet Jackson, Nine Inch Nails Trent Reznor will do the honors for the Cure, Duran Durans John Taylor and Simon LeBon will deliver the speech for Roxy Music and the Bangles Susanna Hoffs will bring in the Zombies.The annual induction dinner and ceremony will be taped and highlights of the speeches and accompanying performances saluting each of the 2019 inductees will be compiled into an HBO special slated to premiere on the cable channel on April 27.

  In addition, the halls 1,000-plus voting membership again overlooked influential German techno band Kraftwerk.As has increasingly been the case in the six years since officials instituted a fan-voting component in 2012, acts ultimately chosen for induction also strongly reflect the vox populi: Def Leppard won that balloting this year, collecting more than 500,000 votes among the total of 3.3 million entered in the fan competition.